High School Recipes Requests (Part 2)

I have really been slacking on my blog. I am a busy wife and mom and it goes without saying that my family comes first.

I have a lot of recipes backed up and I will eventually get around to posting them all.  🙂

I posted earlier about one of my favorite recipes that my mom made us while we were growing up. You can read Part 1 here. This post is another one of our favorites. The beauty of this recipe is how quick it is to make and how easy it is to adjust for a totally different taste.

I will start with the original recipe and how my mom always makes it. Then I will give you some ideas of ways I have changed it up.

Crispy Chicken

Ingredients

6 boneless, skinless chicken breast (we use the hormone free

cups Rice Krispies, crushed (we use the organic cereal)

1 stick butter, melted

1 package dry Italian dressing

Directions

Preheat oven to 350º F.

Place crushed Rice Krispies in a bowl and stir in dry Italian dressing.

Dip one chicken breast in melted butter and then dip in Rice Krispies mixture. Coat all over both sides. Repeat for all chicken breasts.

Place chicken in greased 9 x 13 baking dish.

Bake for 45 minutes or until chicken reaches an internal temperature of  165º F.  I always watch for the sides to start to bubble.

Recipe Modifications

So here are some ways that I have adjusted this recipe over the years.

* Instead of dry Italian Dressing use dry Ranch Dressing.

* If I have any kind of shredded cheese in the fridge sometimes I will sprinkle that on top in the last 10 minutes of baking.

* In the pictures below I used our favorite Buffalo Wild Wings sauce. Instead of dipping the chicken in butter I dipped it in the BWW Parmesan Garlic sauce and then dipped it in the crushed Rice Krispies mixed with dry Ranch Dressing.

* If we are at a farmer’s market or at a specialty kitchen store I usually pick up a homemade BBQ sauce or other meat sauce. I will do the same thing and coat the chicken in the sauce (instead of butter) and then coat it with the Rice Krispies.

*Sometimes when my husband wants it spicy we will use his favorite Famous Dave’s Rich & Sassy BBQ sauce.

This recipe is so quick and easy to throw together. I always keep the ingredients in my pantry because this is such a great back-up plan for a quick meal.

The night that we had the Crispy Chicken I also made some super healthy warm cheesy bread.

Just mix together 1 cup of light mayo with a small package of each of the following shredded cheeses: cheddar, mozzarella, colby-jack.

Spread the cheese mixture on the bread and sprinkle with garlic salt. Bake in a preheated oven for 10 to 15 minutes.

ENJOY!

This entry was posted in About Food, Appetizers, Main Dishes, Sides & Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

