Thoughts from my quiet time….

WE HAVE MOVED!! Back to our hometown. We are shocked and thrilled about this new adventure and can’t believe where God has taken our family. (You can read more about this above in My Adventures)

My posts over the next few weeks might be sporadic as we live with my parents (YIKES), search for a house, move all our belongings, and get back into the swing of things.

Some of the food I have been cooking I haven’t had a chance to sit down and write about yet, so it may take me a bit for all those yummy meals to show up on my blog….

This post is about something I have been studying the last few days. May be a BORING read for most of you (no pictures, recipes or craft ideas), but I wanted to write it all down as it relates to my goal for this blog.

***************************************************************************

I have been memorizing verse 26 from Proverbs 31 for a Bible Study. When I first looked up the verse I made a note to some day come back and study that whole section of Proverbs 31 (10-31), because I noticed the title “The Woman Who Fears the Lord.” I thought to myself that would be a good section to study. I am just sad I put it off for a few weeks (but God’s timing is perfect).

These verses totally sum up my feeling about becoming a Stay at Home Mom and for writing this blog…..

Here it is: some of my favorite verses from this section. This is my interpretation (with help from ESV) of what I will strive to become as a child of God, a wife, and a mom….

The Woman Who Fears the Lord

[ESV Footnote: This lofty portrait of excellence sets such a high standard that it can be depressing to godly women today until its purpose is understood…..this profile is ideal; a particular example of full-scale virtue and wisdom toward which the faithful are willing to be molded. It is not expected that any one woman will look exactly like this in every respect.]

Proverbs 31:10. An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. 11. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. 12. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.

The diligence of the good wife is not for herself alone but also for her husband and household. An excellent wife is hard for a man to find. It is also hard for a woman to become. Neither can be done without God’s help. A man needs to trust that God has the perfect spouse for him. A woman needs to love and fear the Lord, follow His Word, seek wisdom,  and make a daily effort to become that “excellent wife.”

Proverbs 31: 13. She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands.

This woman is skilled in working with textiles to provide for the clothing needs of her household. I would love to become skilled in this area! Not sure if my kids will want to walk around in the clothes I sew, but I will start by sewing some pillows (can’t be too hard, if I remember right from 7th grade).

Proverbs 31: 14. She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar.

This is an analogy, basically it means she goes out of her way to secure fine food for her family.

Again, my goal is to give my family the food they deserve. Food that is healthy and filling. Food that doesn’t have all the junk in it. I really need to train myself to stay away from that stuff, but it is HARD and I think every once in awhile is ok….Keeps me sane 🙂 But if I have to drive an hour to an organic grocery store or if I have to start a garden in our back yard…I will do that for my family!

Proverbs 31:15. She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.

I think the literal translation of this verse means that she rises in the morning to prepare and plan things for her household. She doesn’t rely on her maids to wake her, or for them to prepare things for her family. I take pride in the “planning” of my household. Between the calendar of events and the calendar of menus, I am glad to know that my planning enables my family to be more productive.

I think it is very important for the wife/mom to rise in the morning before everyone else. Maybe you wake first to enjoy the quiet and a cup of coffee, maybe you wake up with a warm bubble bath. Whatever it is, I think it is great for a mom to have some “me time.”  I have seen over the last few months that my daily quiet time is beneficial to me, my faith, and my family! It is a refreshing way to start the day and it prepares my heart to focus on what really matters.

Proverbs 31:20. She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.

I volunteered a lot in throughout high school and college. It was always such a huge rewarding experience. I promised myself that one day, when I was a stay at home mom, that I would make an effort to do this again.

My dream is for Marcus and I to be able to go with my cousin Brett’s ministry to Zambia. Check out his blog. Wouldn’t it be amazing to take a family mission trip every year? I would love, when my kids are old enough, to have them to come with!

Proverbs 31:21. She is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet.

Again with the planning, planning, planning 🙂 She (this excellent woman and wife) carefully prepares for her family. She isn’t afraid of the change in seasons…. they won’t catch her unprepared!

Proverbs 31:25 Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. 26. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

Strength and dignity are so much a part of her character and conduct that they seem to be like her clothing. She laughs at the future, instead of being worried or fearful of it.

Here is the good part! The part I have been memorizing. Verse 26. I sometimes struggle with my “talk.” Women of God are not slanderers, they don’t gossip. Women of God don’t even put themselves in those situations where gossip lurks. Oh, to be more like this woman! Wisdom and Kindess are the only things on her tongue! A lot to live up to, but with God’s help I will try.

Proverbs 31:28. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.

Her children and her husband notice her hard work and her diligence. I know that my husband appreciates all I do for our family, but I hope some day my kids will notice too 🙂

 Proverbs 31:30. Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Fearing the Lord is a quality that is more important than any skill or talent we may possess as a woman.  Charm and beauty are of secondary importance to our godliness.

Having a personal relationship with God is something that I have seen exampled in the woman I look up to in my life. My hope is to follow their example and always put HIM first.

This entry was posted in About Faith & Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

