Bible Verse Memorization

A few women in our church started a new Bible Study in January. We only meet twice a month, so SUPER EASY for busy wives/moms to attend. It seems to me there is no end in sight to the study 🙂 We plan to just keep studying God’s word, applying it to our lives, and helping eachother stay accountable. We call it Titus2Women.

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.”
Titus 2:3

Right now we are reading this book

We spend 2 weeks on each chapter. Then after each lesson we have a guest speaker come in. Our first guest talked with us about having daily quiet time with the Lord. She came with these huge binders with tons of ideas to get you started on study and meditating God’s Word.

 

Boy was I CONVICTED! I have tried so many times to do daily quiet time. I usually do it for a few days and then quit for many reasons excuses. (Too busy, too tired)

So I signed a committment to have Daily Encounters with God. I have actually been doing it! What a BLESSING! I wake up at 6:30 a.m. and usually get in about 30 to 40 minutes.  I use to be sooo tired later in the day, but now I have this huge ENERGY BOOST in the morning and no longer need my afternoon nap with the kids!

I know that sounds weird, but it starts my day out RIGHT. I think about what I read all throughout my day and I am more conscious of my actions.

Another part of this study is scripture memorization. I haven’t done that since I was a kid. The memorizing is not required but I decided to go ahead and try.

So I made these for myself to help me visualize the verses better…and I was using them as Bible book marks…..

 

 

Once I have memorized one I put it on a key ring and just keep them all in my Bible.

 

(I just used some leftover scrapbook paper, typed and printed off the memorization verses, and then took them to a local store to be laminated).

Then I made some for the other ladies in our study….

 

If you don’t want to make them yourself check out this blog that I follow. She made some Scripture Encouragement Tags. I thought she had such a great idea to hang them from your bathroom or car mirror! (If you have a chance, take a look at her Etsy store. I love all of her art and am amazed by the ideas she comes up with!)

So I wanted to put the scripture that I am currently trying to memorize in a spot that I would see numerous times throughout the day. So, of course, I put it in my kitchen 🙂

 

This entry was posted in About Faith & Family, About Fun Stuff, Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

